Leon Bailey dropped from Reggae Boyz Nations League squad Loop Jamaica

The content originally appeared on: Jamaica News Loop News

Head coach Heimir Hallgrímsson has omitted Leon Bailey from the Jamaica senior national football squad for the March international break.

The Jamaia Football Federation (JFF) announced that the Aston Villa winger has been “suspended for this camp for breaking curfew in the last camp.”

The Reggae Boyz are set to face the USA in the Concacaf Nations League semifinals on Thursday, March 21, with the possibility of advancing to the final or third-place match on Sunday, March 24. All matches will be held at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

The 23-member squad features three local-based players: Kaheim Dixon, a striker from Clarendon College and Arnett Gardens; Shaquan Davis, goalkeeper for Mount Pleasant FA; and Richard King, a defender from Cavalier SC.

In other squad developments, Sheffield Wednesday striker Bailey Cadamarteri has earned his first senior Jamaica call-up.

Cadamarteri has emerged in the first-team picture at Hillsborough this season. He burst onto the scene with a prolific start to life under Danny Rohl and has four goals and an assist to his name in 22 appearances overall.

The 18-year-old was preliminary included in the Jamaica U20s squad, but injury prevented him from joining up with the squad.

Tayvon Gray, the right-back for New York City FC, has been given a recall to the squad.

Gray was first called up last September, when the Concacaf Nations League tournament opened. He made his international debut against Grenada on October 12, 2023, but he left the game with an injury. Gray now has three caps with Jamaica.

Corey Burke of the New York Red Bulls and Michail Antonio of West Ham are were also recalled.

Jamaica Nations League squad

Goalkeepers – Andre Blake, Shaquan Davis, Jahmali WaiteDefenders – Richard King, Damion Lowe, Di’Shon Bernard, Michael Hector, Dexter Lembikisa, Tayvon Gray, Greg LeighMidfielders – Daniel Johnson, Joel Latibeaudiere, Bobby DeCordova-Reid, Karoy Anderson, Kasey Palmer, Renaldo CephasForwards – Corey Burke, Bailey Cadamarteri, Demarai Gray, Shamari Nicholson, Michail Antonio, Jamal Lowe and Kaheim Dixon.